Saturday, November 2, 2013

Signing Professional Standards

As many of you may know the Signing Professional Workgroup(SPW) created the Certified Signing Specialist designation.  The SPW also created standards to facilitate mortgage signings and to address regulatory requirements, state-law compliance, consumer satisfaction and consistency in delivery of notary services.

These standards are voluntary.

The standards consist of five recommended requirements:
  1. Certification Background Screening
    Certified Signing Specialists™ will satisfy an annual background screening that follows the search
    criteria and scoring metrics defined in the Standards.
  2. Certified Signing Specialist™ Code of Conduct
    Certified Signing Specialists™ will adopt the standards of professionalism and practice as defined in the Certified Signing Specialist™ Code of Conduct. Adoption will be measured by completion of an acknowledgment in conjunction with the Certified Signing Specialist™ examination.
  3. Standardized Signing Script
    Certified Signing Specialists™ will follow a standardized script at the onset of a loan signing appointment, and will utilize the supplied standardized responses when explaining the function of specific loan documents when asked by the consumer.
  4. Certification Examination
    Certified Signing Specialists™ will complete an annual examination with a passing score of at least 80%. The examination will be updated each year to reflect changes in the industry.
  5. Errors and Omissions Insurance
    Certified Signing Specialists™ will maintain notary errors and omissions insurance coverage of at least $25,000.
For more information about the Standards CLICK HERE

Lewis Notary Services Inc.

Tired of over paying for Ink / Toner?

Post a Comment